Packer land here we come

I’m a proponent of not ‘biting the hand that feeds you’ so I rarely speak about work online. The truth is that my level of workplace satisfaction has been on a steady decline for quite some time, and downright miserable for the past year and a half or so. I’ve lost track along the way. I realized part of the reason I was so conflicted about going back to work after Kaylee was born was because there was considerably less to love about the job I was going back to. Maybe I’ll share more on that later, but probably not. Coupled with the current state of Illinois economy, the time is right for a change. And, change sure is coming.

Scott landed a new job a few weeks ago just outside of Green Bay (300 miles away up in packer land). Initially we planned on him going and me staying with the kids until we sold the house. We agreed to try alternating weekend visits for a few months at which point we’d regroup. We even traded in the FJ for a VW Bug to save on gas mileage while we braced ourselves for the very real chance that we will go into debt while paying a mortgage in one state, rent in another, and full-day daycare for both kids for the first time. I can’t say i wasn’t a little freaked out at the prospect of becoming a suedo single parent with a six month old in tow, even if it was just temporarily. I was pretty sure I could hold out until Christmas but I’m not sure how long I really would have lasted. I didn’t even give it a second thought. Supporting my husband and an opportunity for better jobs in our field was a no brainier. Living the sacrifice in the meantime while everything (hopefully) came together is another story. I hear sanity is overrated anyway…

Then, I got a job offer too. Now we have two weeks to find a place to live and daycare for the kids before we start work. Oh, and Kaylee’s party is this weekend…I’m up to my eyebrows in boxes, party supplies, and chaos. The debt thing is still looming. We’ll put the house on the market after we’re out and begin the process of trying to sell out-of-state. Finger’s crossed, we’re not underwater yet. Go big or go home, right?

I’ll have lots to talk about soon, but I’ll be away for a while first until life settles down again.

Leave a Reply

