food: valentines day dinner recap

webIMG_0341

Exhausted and sleep deprived; We stayed in for valentine’s day this year. I made lobster tails with roasted green beans and Scott made chocolate dipped strawberries.

This was the first time I attempted to make lobster, and I was pretty intimidated going in. I probably wouldn’t have thought of it on my own, but Peapod had a sale on them for v-day so I thought I’d give it a whirl. I’m so glad I did. They were really easy to make and turned out great. I used this recipe (learn how to butterfly here) for the lobster, and Giada’s recipe for clarified butter. It turned out perfectly.

The green beans are my go-to side…we have it all the time because it is so easy:

Heat oven to 350 degrees, throw green beans on a baking sheet, sprinkle with almonds, douse with olive oil and sprinkle with salt and pepper. Bake (roast) for 20 – 30 minutes until beans start to brown and almonds become crispy. It tastes like candy. If you steam the beans first they cook faster. Works great with asparagus too.

webIMG_0348

Since we always have chocolate chips and strawberries on hand, we end up having chocolate covered strawberries quite a bit too. They’re simple as well. Melt chips in microwave, dip strawberries, place on parchment paper to cool. The hardest part is waiting until the chocolate sets – but you can put them in the fridge to shorten the wait. This tends to make the berries sweat though.

We got a 20 minute break from the action to enjoy it all before cries rang out from the other room, and it was perfectly yummy to the very last bite.

Leave a Reply

