crafts: owl fox

I stumbled onto a diy tutorial for a plush fox on A Beautiful Mess a few weekends ago and thought it would be a perfect accent pillow for the chair in Kaylee’s room.

Somewhere along the way though, her fox turned into an owl…

Perhaps because of the short nose/beak, but mostly because I didn’t bother to refer back to the inspiration piece before forging ahead.

Anyway, the fabric is Amy Butler on the front and an old sweater from the Gap on the reverse. In retrospect i wish i put the face on the sweater instead. I had been looking for a project for that sweater for quite a while. I bought it several years ago on a whim. Love the color, it just doesn’t look good on me and while i almost wore it a few times, always ended up pulling it off at the last minute and tossing it back into the closet. So, sadly it has never been worn, but I haven’t been able to part with it either. Using it in this project was helpful. I had been wondering for a while if sewing cut up sweaters to cotton fabric would work, specifically for toys that might see a lot of wear and tear. The seams look sturdy though, and I added double seams in the curves by the ears just in case.

I made fabric covered buttons for the eyes and attached a felt heart to the bum with embroidery floss. Not exactly what I was going for, but not bad for a nap time project either.

Leave a Reply

