20 months

Dear Kaylee,

Welcome to 20 months. You’re fiesty, and fast, and fiercly passionate about your art; making time to color or draw several times a day. Your vocabulary has exploded, most of your gibberish has been replaced with words or portions of words that we can understand. And, you love to point out everything you know. Reading has become a much more fun and interactive exercise because of this.

After being cooped up for most of the winter, we try to get outside with you as often as we can. I usually take you out in the mornings before I leave for work, and if it is nice enough in the evenings, I’ll take you out for a walk when we get home at the end of the day. Daddy usually takes you out for a bit before packing you up in the car for daycare too.

You are very busy these days, always exploring and learning new things. You’re like a little sponge and can’t get enough.

This ceramic dog, which broke off of a hideous statue that the previous owners left behind in the yard, is your new favoritest thing. You carry him around everything, but we draw the line at letting you bring him to bed.

You’re still taking two naps most days, and you need them. You go, and go, and go, until you can’t any more. And when you sleep, you crash out hard, oblivious to the world around you.

Some days it is all I can do to stay awake long enough to get you off to bed before crashing out myself. Keeping up with you is quite an endeavor, and I’ll freely admit takes a level of energy all the caffeine in the world couldn’t prepare me for. Then, I wake up in the morning to the sound of your voice calling my name. And it starts all over again. And I wouldn’t have it any other way.

I love every single second we share.

Love,
Mommy.

Leave a Reply

