Crafts: felt ravioli

I have been enamored with felt toys, specifically play food, for quite a while now. I have a folder full of “someday” projects at the ready. Now that Kaylee has a kitchen of her very own I finally have a reason to get started chipping away at my list. So, last weekend I picked out a simple starting point, felt ravioli.

Selecting the right shade from my stash was literally the most challenging part. After that, I just cut strips about 2.5 inches wide by 12 inches long (the length of my felt square), matched the strips up into pairs, then cut again into approximately 2.5 by 2.5 inch squares.

I top stitched 3 sides of my small squares to make a pocket for the stuffing. I found I didn’t even need to take the square off the machine to stuff it, I just used pencil to nudge it in place then made sure it was tucked inside before turning and finishing the last side. After that, all that was left to do was trim the thread and fancy up the edge with pinking shears.

Easy-peasy. It was a nice first project. Kaylee likes to place them in and out of the pot and serve them up, one ravioli per plate. She dutifully blows on them before she shows them to us. She’s not quite got the hang of actually sharing things yet and most often takes them right back, if she bothers to let them leave her hands in the first place.

P.S. the plate is from Ikea’s Duktig children line. The bowls that come in the set are the perfect size for baby portions. We have used them for Kaylee since she started eating solids – very durable.

Leave a Reply

