food: Pink Himalayan Sea Salt Caramels

I’m making caramels for my friends at work this year, and it’s a lot more work than I originally anticipated. That is only because my list is a little too long and I’ve gotten myself in over my head. The kitchen has become a candy factory, but on the bright side, the house smells great.

I use Ina’s Fleur de Sel caramel recipe, substituting Pink Himalayan Sea salt because that’s what I had on hand and I think it looks pretty too. Although a bit intimidating at first because it requires a candy thermometer, they are pretty simple to make (I use a digital meat thermometer instead because I haven’t gotten around to buying the right tool yet). The sugar and cream bubble up violently when mixed, which adds a bit of excitement to the whole endeavor too.

The end result is divine.

***UPDATE*** april 2012
I received a candy thermometer for Christmas and made another batch of these caramels to christen it. I have to say it really was so much easier with the proper tool. The meat thermometer did an OK job, but the candy thermometer was precise and resulted in perfect consistency for each batch without any guesswork. Totally worth the $10.

One thought on “food: Pink Himalayan Sea Salt Caramels

Leave a Reply

