crafts: Koolaid Playdough

We have several kiddos on our holiday list this year. Since we are trying to cut back a bit in preparation of refinancing the house and getting a new roof, I went off in search of something crafty and fun that also didn’t cost a lot of money. Enter Koolaid Playdough!

There are recipes all over the Internet. Here is the one I used:

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup flour
  • 1/4 cup salt
  •  2 Tsp cream of tartar
  •  1 envelope unsweetened Koolaid
  •  1 cup water
  •  1 Tbsp. vegetable oil

Directions:

1. Mix flour, salt, cream of tartar, Koolaid in medium saucepan. Stir in water and oil.
2. Mix over medium heat for 3-5 minutes until mixture forms a ball in the center of pan. You’ll know it’s done when it stops being ‘gooey’. It also gets darker in color when it is ready.
3. Remove dough from pan and allow to cool. I turned mine out onto wax paper on the kitchen table and let it sit while I made the next batch.
4. Once the dough is cool enough to handle, knead until the color is evenly distributed and the dough is soft. I read that some people had problems with the koolaid staining their pots or their hands – I didn’t experience this problem with my stainless pot although the colors I chose were relatively benign.
5. Store in airtight container (ziplock back, plastic storage container, ball jar, tin canister, etc)

I made three batches back to back in less than 30 minutes. I spent the rest of the time making my containers pretty. The paper is from a huge pad I bought from Michaels while I was working on crafty things for Kaylee’s nursery. I don’t think there are enough projects in the world to use it all up. But, then again, I’m not really big into paper crafts so maybe there just are not enough projects in my world to use it up….

Overall, it was easy and cheap. I’ll definitely make the dough again, in fact, I’m not sure I’ll ever need to purchase playdough considering this was so easy and I’m sure Kaylee will really like making it with me when she is old enough to participate too.  The dough itself is much  nicer than I remember the store bought stuff being. It’s soft in your hands but has enough body to hold shapes easily, plus it smells yummy too. Bonus points for being non-toxic, if only it tasted as good as it smells 😉

Leave a Reply

