thanksgiving 2011

I love Thanksgiving. It is my favorite holiday and I look forward to it with great anticipation every year. One of the simple pleasures in life is the way a house comes alive with smells bursting from the oven. I always make a point to go outside and come back in at least one, even if I don’t have anywhere to go, just so I can take it all in.  I think it is totally awesome to have the opportunity to share time with friends and family without pressure. I have spent quite a few of them on my own – far from home – and yet always found a place at someone’s table, treated as though I was part of the family. What’s not to like about that? I also looovvvvee the food. One of my very favorite meals is leftover turkey, gravy, and mashed potatoes the morning after. Also, it is the only time of the year I drink sparkling apple cider – a real treat, and one that reminds me of all the thanksgivings of my youth spent at my dear Aunt Rosie’s house.

We had a fairly low-key Thanksgiving this year. Scott’s parents came over and we made our traditional meal of Alton Brown’s Roast Turkey & Keyshawn’s Mom’s Candied Yams. I was so concerned with the pie that I totally spaced on the bread – we ended up having regular old sandwich bread. But to make up for that I whipped up some cinnamon butter (no recipe – just a stick of butter with sugar and cinnamon whipped together in the kitchenaid). I also made some apple cider gravy courtesy of a recipe in the Peapod holiday flyer. I actually cheated because I really don’t like dealing with the giblets so I mixed a jar of store-bought turkey gravy with apple cider and a tablespoon of flour, and heated it until it thickened a bit. I got the turkey from Peapod too – this year I splurged on a organic bird – fancy-smancy! Kaylee wasn’t too keen on the turkey, but boy did she love the sweet potatoes!

Speaking of turkeys, here’s ours in her Thanksgiving dress. This is the only picture I managed to get of her that day that wasn’t too blury.

We had a fair bit of leftovers so I made Alton’s Bird to the Last Drop soup the next day. I ended up cooking it a bit long so it turned out more like a thick stew than a soup – but still yummy just the same.

Leave a Reply

