mostly homemade apple pie

Scott requested apple pie for Thanksgiving, so I took my first stab at it. I used Paula Deen’s Crunch Top Apple Pie recipe which was super simple with pre-made refridgerated pie crust. I used a mix of apples – granny smith, honeycrisp, braeburn, and golden delicious – and organic apple sauce. I’m not a big fruit pie fan, but I think it turned out pretty good and the family really liked it too. Next year I plan on working up the courage to make my own crust too.

It was gone before I thought to take an ‘after’ picture, but I assure you, it was a lovely golden brown color. The crunch topping was the best part and when I make it again I plan on doubling the crunch portion of the recipe.

Leave a Reply

