crafts: making some progress on emily’s quilt

ok…so, remember the quilt I started last January for my niece Emily? No? Well here’s a look back. It sat, untouched, for the better part of the year while I figured out the whole ‘being a mom’ thing and Kaylee sorted out her sleep schedule. For a while I was sure I would never have free time again and when Kaylee first started sleeping through the night I had a lot of sleep to catch up on too and ended up crashing out by 9pm. Work has been keeping me pretty busy too and I tend to come home at the end of a long day totally exhausted with just enough energy left over to enjoy a few brief hours with my baby.  But, recently I have started missing the things I used to enjoy before I got all wrapped up in babydom.

Scott put together my new sewing table over Thanksgiving break;

and I ran across Emily’s unfinished quilt while rummaging through my stash of unfinished projects, eager to try out my new space. I cut the backing and pinned everything together over the weekend and now I’m ready to go.

My goal is to have this quilt finished by Christmas, along with a matching doll quilt set. Perhaps a bit ambitious with 4 weeks left, but I’m feeling up to the challenge.

Besides, it is all pinned and ready to go, all that is left is to quilt and bind (blah), and the doll set should go pretty quickly. The timing is perfect too since Emily just moved to her big girl bed over summer.

Leave a Reply

