leap of faith

I have been on every service provider’s website over the past 2 months trying to sort things out and I finally made a decision today…I just bought a new phone. An LG Optimus V from….Virgin Mobile. I chose their $35 a month unlimited text and web plan. It comes with 300 anytime minutes too, but talk time just isn’t important to me so I’m fine with that. In fact I’m just waiting around for someone to come up with a text/web only plan with pay per minute phone service – then I’ll be a happy camper.

I have been out of contract for almost 4 months, unhappy with T-mobile’s rates and in desperate need of an upgrade. My poor little G1 has been through the wringer and seems to be permanantly coated in goo. In all honesty, there are much better things I’d rather spend $80 a month on. $35 bucks a month for an Android phone, without a contract, seems like a no-brainer and I’ve got 30 days to take it for a test drive. If I hate, I can get my money back and move on. But, I have a feeling it is going to be just what I need.

The decision to go with a contract-free, pay-as-you-go phone was quite difficult for me. I have been in and out of traditional phone plans for as long as I have been a cellphone user – more than a decade. That makes me feel old. But, I am finding myself excited about the arival of my new phone in 3-5 days, and the chance to try out a new provider. I’ll keep you posted.

Leave a Reply

