Tech Tuesdays: Diary of an ipd2 owner

It has been a while since I have been an early adopter. The release of Xbox Kinect was the last time, and before that, the second WoW expansion, and before that, the Wii. There is something decidedly different about an Apple release. Standing in line was actually fun, like being part of the iN crowd. The vibe felt like waiting for santa to arrive on christmas eve and, even though having an infant in tow slightly detracted from my cool factor, at least I (we) was there. (As a related side note, there was a young, uber tan, big-haired, overly dressed, couple in line in front of me arguing over how many iPads they should get. A short while later a third young, tan, big-haired, male companion joined them. I believe this new guy was the ‘real’ boyfriend as the other two stopped being as touchy-feely once he showed up.  Although I have never seen an episode of Jersey Shore, the drama unfolding before my eyes was, what I can only assume, very Jerseylicious. )

Kaylee was ready for a nap again by the time we got home. I debated waiting for Scott before the big unboxing, but justified proceeding without him with the rationalization that it would be more fun for him if the iPad was actually charged and ready to go. I felt a pang of guilt as I broke the seal. Tormented by the thought that perhaps $650 would have been better spent on more important things. They say having kids changes everything, and it does. I just find myself continually surprised by the little ways that change creeps in while you’re not looking. Like feeling guilty about buying something special for myself rather than for the baby. The nagging voice in my head doesn’t trust my newfound parental sensibilities and likes to constantly remind me not to spend her college fund lattes and lottery tickets, as if I couldn’t figure that out on my own without the guilt.

But, I digress….

The first time I took it to a meeting I immediately felt self-conscious. It was as if I was bragging. I’m not quite sure if it was the attention, questions, and comments (“oh, is that an iPad?! Lucky girl!”) or that the purchase is what I would consider extravagant despite being well within my means.

After 2 weeks of use I’m starting to get more attached but I don’t feel like something is missing when I leave it behind (like I do with my phone). It’s a great tool for work and really nice to have around the house. It is so much easier to transport than a laptop. I do find a few things to be frustrating though. The WordPress app is C-r-a-p. It fails to provide a way to spellcheck, add links, or images, all of which I do for every post. So, I still have to log in to the web page when I want to update my blog. Also, the camera is difficult to take videos with. It would be nice if it had the ability to zoom out, and for HD quality, it’s pretty grainy. With that said, the convenience of being able to shoot, edit, and upload video and images from one device totally rocks. On the downside, no flash support on Apple devices is more of a big deal than I thought it would be. A lot of web page content is simply not accessible without it, including the ability to check the video posts to the blog to make sure they’re working properly before I publish. Annoying!

All in all, I’d say the iPad and I are good buds, but not quite BFF status yet. I seem to find new uses for it every day – we subscribed to Hulu plus over the weekend and I introduced Scott to Raising Hope all thanks to the magic of the iPad. But so far, I can still say that I could live without it. Check back with me in a few months.

Leave a Reply

