Tech Tuesdays: Going cable-free

We opened our cable bill this month to find that comcast is raising their rates, again. We are already paying through the nose for extended basic service – $80 a month with tax and fees plus an additional charge for HD (seriously?) – without any premium channels, plus another $50 for low-speed Internet.

I was ready to cancel months ago, but Scott has been reluctant and since it is his bill I haven’t pushed the issue. I stopped watching tv shortly after Kaylee was born. By that time the only shows I watched regularly were Modern family, Glee, and The Daily Show, but it quickly became too challenging to follow along and pay attention to an infant at the same time. I can recall one evening where Kaylee was particularly fussy and woke up after a half hour nap, roughly 5 minutes in to an episode of  Raising Hope and I was annoyed that I wouldn’t be able to watch it instead of excited to spend time with her. At that point I knew something had to change – my attitude. So, soon I found myself going days without even turning the tv on at all. I missed it at first but now I don’t even think about it and I have recaptured some free time to do other things that I really enjoy. Scott, on the other hand, has it on pretty much all the time, but since scifi became syfy and cancelled most of his favorite shows, he watches Netflix a lot more than regular tv. We do still watch the daily show together.

After the bill arrived, I did a bit of research and found we can get pretty close to the same service we have now by purchasing a roku box and hulu plus (unfortunately hulu plus doesn’t support xbox 360 yet). So for a one time fee of $70 for the Roku, and $7.99 a month for hulu plus, we’ll still get to watch everything we can now for $70 less a month. And, Roku allows you to access Amazon Video on Demand service too just in case we want something we can’t get on Netflix. The savings will allow us to bump up our Internet speed to the next level for an additional $12 per month and still save about $600 a year. That’s money that could go towards Kaylee’s college fund rather than lining the pockets of a megacorp who shouldn’t be charging its customers anything for ad-based programming in the first place.

Leave a Reply

