The breastfeeding saga continued

So…Things were going badly and I started weaning Kaylee. She didn’t mind the bottle, in fact she seemed to prefer the simplicity of it as much as I did. It took about a week and a half to get down to one nursing session a day. I tried to stop cold turkey and switch to pumping but she still wanted an early evening feeding (I think it was more for the comfort than the nurishment since I really wasn’t producing much by that point). Then, just when she was almost completely transitioned over to bottles something strange happened. Suddenly it didn’t hurt when she nursed, she even started latching on better despite bouncing between breast, bottle, and pacifier, I finally figured out the whole pumping thing, and the whole experience was actually nice. I added an early morning nursing back to our day and made a decision to try to build my supply back up and pump almost exclusively with one or two nursing sessions a day for as long as I could make it work. Unfortuneately, my body wasn’t having any part of this new plan. I was only able to get half an ounce total when I pumped and she was drinking 3-4 ounces per bottle at that point.

That was two weeks ago.

I started taking herbs (fenugreek and mother’s milk tea) last week. The dosage is high (6 pills and 5 cups of tea a day) but it’s “natural” so there aren’t any bad side effects, unless you count the fact that my pee smells like pancakes (fenugreek is used to flavor maple syrup). I’m not sure if it’s the herbs or the extra pumping but I can get 1-2 ounces per session now instead of 1/4 to a 1/2 ounce. In any case, they are definitely not the miracle cure the reviews on Amazon made them out to be. At least not for me. But, they probably don’t hurt either.

The current state of things includes nursing two to three times a day and pumping 4 to 5 times. I don’t get up to pump or nurse in the middle of the night because I like my sleep (and she does too). I’m sure this is having a negative effect on my supply, but I’m OK with that. At 7 weeks old she drinks anywhere from 4-6 ounces at a time. I can pump one to two ounces each 15 minute session so I am able to produce about 1 bottle a day now. Not great, but better than nothing and with any luck I’ll be able to continue to increase my supply over the next few weeks. I’m not sure how much longer this will last. For now I’m just trying to make it until I go back to work. I have two weeks left.

Wow, does time fly.

Leave a Reply

