The Nursery: Crib bumper update

The crib bumper is finally (mostly) complete. I just need to figure out how I want to close up the bottom edge. The pattern calls for slip stitching it closed. But, I’d like something a little more practical so I can wash it easily. I don’t think I’d ever get it into the washer with the foam pads in place. I’m thinking maybe velcro or snaps at the moment, but the project took 3 weekends to get this far and I’m putting it aside to take a break for now. The baby won’t be in the crib right away (we plan on putting her in the pack ‘n play in our room for the first few weeks) so I have some time left to figure it out.

2 thoughts on “The Nursery: Crib bumper update

  1. It’s coming together pretty well. I’m thinking of dying the fitted sheet a fun color, maybe green or teal or orange, something to match the amy butler fabric. But, I spent extra money buying organic cotton sheets and I don’t want to ruin the ‘chemical free’ qualities of the fabic by adding some random chemical dye to it. I’m looking around for an organic alternative to Rit. I don’t think it will hold a veggie or kool-aid dye since the fabric isn’t synthetic or wool. And, I’d like the color to be as vibrant as the patterned fabric. If you have any suggestions, let me know.

Leave a Reply

