38 weeks…

“Your baby has really plumped up. She probably weighs about 6.8 pounds and she’s over 19 1/2 inches long, like a leek. She has a firm grasp, which you’ll soon be able to test when you hold her hand for the first time! Her organs have matured and are ready for life outside the womb.” from BabyCenter.com.

I’m a little late on this post, it was a busy weekend. I found out that I’m 50% effaced at my doctor’s appointment on Friday. Not dilated at all yet though. Doc B said it could happen any time, but probably not too early. After which he added that if I’m getting impatient, not to bother with long walks and Mexican food. Sex is the only way to encourage the baby to come. Something about protein in sperm activating hormones. He reminded me that he’ll be out of town over my due date and that perhaps, maybe, I’d want to get going a little early, but not to share the details with him if I decide to follow his advice or not. Gotta love this guy’s bedside manner.

I had a long day of shopping on Saturday and started getting mild contractions by the end of my trip to the grocery store. It’s been a while since I’ve been there without Scott and I think it was a little much after already stopping at Old Navy (I plan on living in maternity tank tops and sweat pants the first few weeks and needed to stock up). But, the contractions stopped by the time I got home and I felt fine the rest of the weekend. Then, Sunday we went to see Inception on Imax. It was awesome, probably the best movie we’ve seen so far this year, and in a long time before that for that matter. The Sci-fi elements were just plausible enough to be believable, the action was perfectly timed, and the character development was right on. The story felt familiar, but different enough to stand out on it’s own among the other great Sci-fi/fantasy of it’s time. I’m still thinking about it several days later. DiCaprio is really coming into his own. We also went to see Sorcerer’s Apprentice on Monday, which was OK for what it was, but fell flat in comparison to Inception.

I also (mostly) finished the crib bumper over the weekend. Pictures coming soon.

I have another doctor’s appointment on Friday. Hopefully we’ll see some progress.

9 more days…

Leave a Reply

