37 weeks

 

“Your baby is as lofty as a stalk of Swiss chard and weighs 6 1/3 pounds. (Length: a bit over 19 inches, head to heel.” Babycenter.com

New this week: the baby is now considered “full term,”  if I go into labor now, her lungs will likely be mature enough to fully adjust to life outside the womb. She’s running out of room and her movements typically consist of stretching (she likes to push off my ribs with her feet and press her head further into my bladder) and rolling over, with the occasional foot or elbow strike. She responds to sounds and touch much more easily now. And, she has a preference for laying on the left side of my belly which gives it a lopsided appearance at times.

I had a checkup this morning which involved the strep-b test. Not a pleasant experience but not so bad either. I’ll get the results sometime next week which will determine if I need antibiotics during labor or not. My cervix isn’t dilated or effaced even the slightest bit. Doc B said the baby probably won’t come this week or next, but you never can tell. My blood pressure, belly measurement, and her heart rate are all normal. My belly still isn’t very big but I’m starting to feel the urge to close my eyes when I step on the scale. It will be so nice in a couple of weeks when those numbers start to trickle backwards instead of forward again.

I have significantly less fatigue now and I feel the best I have the entire pregnancy at the moment (aside from occasionally having trouble sleeping at night, a bit of swelling in my feet, and the unexpected jabs to my ribcage from within). 

We visited with friends over the weekend and came home with a baby swing, industrial sized box of eco friendly baby wipes, and teeny-tiny pink baby outfits along with more Megadeth swag than we know what to do with (they recently took over running the fan club for MegaDave). One more pack of D batteries and we’ll be all set with just about everything we could possibly need for the first few months – except the baby.

I’m going to make a few meals to stash in the freezer this weekend – turkey lasagna and harvest soup. I don’t want to go too overboard with the food storage. I think it will be good to have an excuse to get out of the house once in a while those first few weeks after the baby is born.

3 weeks to go…

Leave a Reply

