the glucose test

So…I went in for my glucose tolerance test today which screens for gestational diabetes. It consists of drinking a bottle of glucose solution then having blood drawn an hour later. The test checks to see how fast my body processes sugar. A high level of glucose at this point doesn’t mean anything is wrong ; it just means I need a more extensive testing.

The doctor gave me a bottle to take home at my last appointment and told me to drink it before I came in on my test date to cut down on the time I had to wait around in the office. I put it in the fridge and tried to forget about it for the next couple of weeks. In the meantime I read and heard a bunch of stories about how horrible the drink tastes and that it makes you nauseous. Of course this was all I could think of every time I opened the refrigerator door and saw the bright orange bottle of goo staring back at me.

Turns out it really wasn’t that bad though. It tastes a bit like watery cough medicine – not as overly sweet or thick as I had imagined. I “enjoyed” mine over ice, and had an english muffin with peanut butter about 2 hours before I drank it to try to avoid a sugar crash. I didn’t feel sick at all, until the nurse came at me with her needle kit – but getting my blood drawn tends to have that effect anyway. I did start to get really tired just about the time I got to work, but managed to drag myself throughout the rest of the day. Later that evening  I fell asleep on the couch about 15 minutes after I walked in the door and was dead to the world until  nearly 10pm.

All in all, not worth all the anxiety in my opinion. I get the results next week. If I fail I have to take a more extensive test, if not, then I’m in the clear.

Leave a Reply

