things they don’t tell you about being pregnant #2

You get used to hearing the phrase “how are you feeling?”

Ever notice that there is a subtle difference between “how are you feeling” the typical greeting of “how are you?” People generally don’t add “feeling” to the end unless they know something is/was wrong with you. It also tends to be a nice way saying “gee, you look like crap today, what’s up with that?” 

As soon as people know you’re pregnant they tend to ask how you’re feeling everytime they see you. Like you’ve been sick for a while or you forgot to brush your hair that morning. When it first started happening I thought to myself, “I feel fine. I must look really tired today, maybe I forgot to put on mascara.”  After about a week of being paranoid that I forgot how to properly groom myself before leaving the house, I finally realized what was going on. It’s still a little strange, but I’ve come to accept it as a term of endearment. And, I think  it will probably turn out to be one of the things I miss about being pregnant when all the attention shifts from me to  “how’s’ the baby doing?”

Leave a Reply

